Date of Award

Spring 1976

Document Type

Legacy Thesis

Degree Name

Bachelor of Arts (BA)




College of Humanities and Fine Arts

First Advisor

James Branham


"The history of liberty has largely been the history of the observance of procedural safeguards." - Felix Frankfurter. Shortly before the 200th Birthday Celebration of this nation, it necessarily becomes proper for the citizens of this state to honor those South Carolinians who have offered and endured so much to make this Bicentennial Celebration possible. The eight men included in this work are: John Rutledge, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, Pierce Butler, Arthur Middleton, Edward Rutledge, Thomas Lynch, Jr., and Thomas Heyward, Jr. --These men do not represent a complete list of deserving individuals, but because of their signatures on the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States they are worthy of symbolizing South Carolina as having been the intellectual stronghold of the American colonies. Let everyone in this state be proud in realizing that without these eight South Carolinians, who contributed their legal, political and military expertise, we might not today be enjoying the liberty and freedom that this country will celebrate on July 4, 1976.