Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

12-13-2022

Administration, Governance and Advancement Committee, December 13, 2022

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Administration, Governance and Advancement Committee, December 13, 2022" (2022). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 809. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/809

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Meetings

Administration, Governance and Advancement Committee Allen Ballroom December 13, 2022

Committee Members Present: William Turner, John Bartell, William Biggs, Lisa Davis, Natasha Hanna, Oran Smith

Committee Members Not Present: None

Other Board Members Present: Lee Belcher, Dalton Floyd, Joe Jarrett, Sherry Johnson, Mark Kelley, George Mullen, Bradley Poston, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Gene Spivey, Delan Stevens

Other Board Members Not Present: None

Others Present: Michael Benson, Claudia Bornholdt, Brant Branham, Brian Bunton, Lee Brown, Meredith Canady, Amanda Craddock, Daniel Ennis, Amanda Foss, David Frost, Christina Genovevo, Stephen Harrison, Yvonne Hernandez Friedman, Matthew Hogue, Ashley Holloway, Sara Hottinger, Carlos Johnson, Thomas Koczara, Drew Kurlowski, Colleen McGlone, Kelly Moore, Travis Overton, Jerry Rashid, David Roper, Diane Sanders, Olga Shabeka, Erika Small, Robert Young

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Three members of the media were in attendance: Katie Powell with MyHorryNews.com, Samuel Shelton from WMBF news, and Danny Kelly from Post and Courier.)

Chairman William Turner called the Administration, Governance and Advancement Committee meeting to order at 11:18 a.m.

Oran Smith moved to approve the Administration, Governance and Advancement Committee meeting minutes from Oct. 13, 2022. Lisa Davis seconded, and the motion carried.

Vice President for Executive Initiatives/Chief of Staff, Travis Overton, reported on motions that will be presented for the renaming of campus buildings.

Vice President for Advancement and Alumni Engagement, Diane Sanders, provided an advancement report.

Overton introduced the new Associate Vice President for University Marketing and Communication, Ashley Holloway.

Administration Governance and Advancement Committee Meeting December 13, 2022

Overton provided the CCU strategic plan report.

- Almost 300 faculty/staff and 100 students participated in forums held on campus to provide feedback.
- Draft was presented to the Board defining the three key priorities.
- The next step is to have work groups develop an action plan.

Overton provided the Association of Governing Boards (AGB) report.

- Trusteeship conference April 2-4, 2023, in San Diego, Calif.
- Board members interested in attending can contact Overton for travel arrangements.

Policy Review

Policies were provided to the Board for review. They will be presented in the February committee meeting for approval.

William Biggs moved to go into Executive Session for contractual matters. Davis seconded, and the motion carried.

It is noted upon return from Executive Session that no action was taken.

Naming of Buildings

- Smith moved to approve the following 3 building name requests:
 - Name Science Building II based on the terms of a seven-figure gift opportunity (Motion 22-AGA-04).
 - Name the archive and special collections area of the Kimbel Library based on a potential gift agreement for a seven-figure donation (Motion 22-AGA-05).
 - Name Academic and Office Building II "Penny Hall" to recognize the support of the Horry County community and the penny sales tax (Motion 22-AGA-06).

Davis seconded, and the motions carried.

With no additional business, meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Christina Genovevo Recorder