Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

**Board of Trustees Committee Minutes** 

**Board of Trustees** 

8-5-2021

### Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, August 5, 2021

**Coastal Carolina University** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

#### **Recommended Citation**

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, August 5, 2021" (2021). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 786. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/786

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

#### Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

### Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Singleton Ballroom August 5, 2021

**Committee Members Present:** Oran Smith, John Bartell, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Joe Jarrett, Gene Spivey

#### Committee Members Not Present: None

**Other Board Members Present:** Lee Belcher, William Biggs, Natasha Hanna, Sherry Johnson, Mark Kelley, George Mullen, Bradley Poston, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Delan Stevens, William Turner

#### Board Members Not Present: None

**Others Present:** Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, AraLeigh Beam, Michael Benson, Claudia Bornholdt, Brant Branham, Lee Brown, Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Matthew Hogue, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Carlos Johnson, Christopher Johnson, Kelly Moore, Christopher Morgan, Travis Overton, Julie Quinn, Jerry Rashid, David Roper, Diane Sanders, Erika Small, James Solazzo, Holley Tankersley, John Vrooman

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Three members of the media were in attendance: Alan Blondin with The Sun News, Ian Brooking with MyHorryNews.com, and Danny Kelley with The Post and Courier.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting to order at 3:41 p.m.

Lisa Davis moved to approve the Academic and Retention Committee meeting minutes from May 6, 2021. Dalton Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

### Davis moved to approve the academic administrator rank/tenure request (Motion 21-AAR-05). Smith seconded, and the motion carried.

The Dean of the College of Graduate and Continuing Studies, J. Lee Brown, was granted the appointment of Professor of Management with Tenure.

Floyd moved to approve the Faculty Manual Promotion and Tenure revision (Motion 21-AAR-06). John Bartell seconded, and the motion carried.

# Academic Affairs and Retention Committee August 5, 2021

Davis moved to approve the College Promotion and Tenure Committee membership request (Motion 21-AAR-07). Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

# Davis moved to approve the request for promotion/voting rights for senior lecturers (Motion 21-AAR-08). Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Provost/Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Daniel Ennis, presented the Academic Affairs report. Ennis introduced two new deans:

- Dean Holley Tankersley, Spadoni College of Education and Social Sciences
- Dean J. Lee Brown, College of Graduate and Continuing Studies

Vice President for Student Success, Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, James Solazzo, presented a retention report.

• From fall 2020 to fall 2021, the University currently has a 74% retention rate for first year freshmen.

Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management, Amanda Craddock, presented an enrollment report which included fall 2021 registration information.

As there was no additional business, Spivey moved to adjourn. Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

*Lydia Deeck* Lydia Deeck Recorder