Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

5-6-2021

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, May 6, 2021

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, May 6, 2021" (2021). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 785.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/785

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Singleton Ballroom May 6, 2021

Committee Members Present: Oran Smith, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Daniel Moore, Gene Spivey

Committee Members Not Present: Samuel Swad

Other Board Members Present: John Bartell, Lee Belcher, William Biggs, Natasha Hanna, Wyatt Henderson, Sherry Johnson, George Mullen, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Delan Stevens, William Turner

Board Members Not Present: None

Others Present: Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Michael Benson, Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Matthew Hogue, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Joe Jarrett, Carlos Johnson, Mark Kelley, Susannah Marshman, Kelly Moore, Travis Overton, Peter Paquette, Julie Quinn, Jerry Rashid, David Roper, James Solazzo, Gregory Thompson

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Four members of the media were in attendance: Connor Ingalls with WPDE News, Katie Powell with MyHorryNews.com, Alan Blondin with The Sun News, and Taylor Hernandez with WBTW News.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting to order at 9:45 a.m.

Gene Spivey moved to approve the February 18, 2021, Academic and Retention Committee meeting minutes. Dalton Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Smith noted that the Emeritus title request (Motion 21-AAR-03) would be taken up at a later point.

Spivey moved to approve the Trustee Persistence Award request. Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs, Daniel Ennis, presented the Academic Affairs report which included enrollment information.

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee May 6, 2021

Provost Ennis announced the HTC Honors College and Center for Interdisciplinary Studies will be renamed the HTC Honors College. This aligns with other college names and will focus more on Honors at Coastal.

As there was no additional business, Spivey moved to adjourn. Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

*Lydia Deeck*Lydia Deeck
Recorder