Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

2-18-2021

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, February 18, 2021

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, February 18, 2021" (2021). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 784.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/784

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Singleton Ballroom February 18, 2021

Committee Members Present: Oran Smith, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Daniel Moore, Gene Spivey

Committee Members Not Present: Samuel Swad

Other Board Members Present: John Bartell, Lee Belcher, William Biggs, Natasha Hanna, Sherry Johnson, George Mullen, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Delan Stevens, William Turner

Board Members Not Present: Wyatt Henderson

Others Present: Michael Benson, Claudia Bornholdt, Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Edward Jadallah, Carlos Johnson, Christopher Johnson, Travis Overton, Peter Paquette, Julie Quinn, Jerry Rashid, Michael Roberts, David Roper, Erika Small, Gregory Thompson, Robert Young

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Three members of the media were in attendance: Connor Ingalls with WPDE News, Katie Powell of MyHorryNews.com, and Alan Blondin of The Sun News.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting to order at 10:06 a.m.

Gene Spivey moved to approve the Dec. 11, 2020, and Jan. 20, 2021, Academic and Retention Committee meeting minutes. Daniel Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

Spivey moved to bestow Emeriti title requests for faculty to be awarded upon retirement (Motion 21-AAR-01). Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

At the time of their retirement, the following faculty were awarded Emeriti titles: Amy Edmunds, Distinguished Lecturer; David Evans, Emeritus Professor; and Sharon Thompson, Distinguished Professor Emeritus.

Moore moved to approve promotion and tenure recommendations (Motion 21-AAR-02). Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee February 18, 2021

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs, Daniel Ennis, presented the Academic Affairs report, which included enrollment information.

As there was no additional business, Moore moved to adjourn. Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

*Lydia Deeck*Lydia Deeck
Recorder