Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

8-6-2020

Executive Committee, August 6-7, 2020

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive Committee, August 6-7, 2020" (2020). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 771.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/771

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Committee Singleton Ballroom August 6, 2020 and August 7, 2020

Committee Members Present: William S. Biggs, Natasha M. Hanna, D. Wyatt Henderson, Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Oran P. Smith, Eugene C. Spivey, William E. Turner III

Committee Members Not Present: H. Delan Stevens

Other Board Members Present: John H. Bartell Jr., Lee A. Belcher, Dalton B. Floyd Jr., Sherry I. Johnson, Jason M. Repak, Patrick S. Sparks

Board Members Not Present: George E. Mullen (Aug. 7, 2020), Samuel J. Swad

Others Present: Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Carlos Johnson, Travis Overton, Julie Quinn, Jerry Rashid, Erika Small, David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Four members of the media were in attendance: Alan Blondin of The Sun News, Rob Blomquist of WMBF News, Gabe McDonald of WMBF News, and Katie Powell of The Horry Independent.)

Chairman William Biggs brought the Executive Committee to order at 4:41 p.m.

William Turner moved to approve the Feb. 21, 2020, Executive Committee minutes. Lee Belcher seconded, and the motion carried.

Turner moved to approve the March 20, 2020, Executive Committee minutes. Daniel Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

The Bylaws Ad Hoc Committee recommended to amend the Board of Trustees Bylaws to revise the language for several operations of the Board of Trustees, which includes a designation of new committees for the Board of Trustees (Motion 20-EXC-01).

All bylaw changes will be voted upon on Aug. 7 after changes are incorporated into the existing bylaws and distributed to committee members.

Oran Smith moved to confirm the review of the Coastal Carolina University Mission Statement (Motion 20-EXC-02). Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

Executive Committee August 6, 2020

As there was no additional business, Belcher moved to adjourn. Turner seconded, and the motion carried.

The Executive Committee was reopened the following day, Aug. 7, 2020, to review the bylaw changes discussed previously.

Natasha Hanna moved to approve the amended Board of Trustees Bylaws to revise the language for several operations of the Board of Trustees, which includes a designation of new committees for the Board of Trustees (Motion 20-EXC-01). Smith seconded, and the motion carried.

As there was no additional business, Smith moved to adjourn. Wyatt Henderson seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder