Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

**Board of Trustees Committee Minutes** 

**Board of Trustees** 

2-20-2020

# Athletics Committee, February 20, 2020

**Coastal Carolina University** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

#### **Recommended Citation**

Coastal Carolina University, "Athletics Committee, February 20, 2020" (2020). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 766. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/766

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

#### Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

### Athletics Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 20, 2020

**Committee Members Present:** Eugene Spivey, Lee Belcher, Wyatt Henderson, George Mullen, Patrick Sparks

**Other Board Members Present:** William Biggs, Dalton Floyd, Natasha Hanna, Wyatt Henderson, Sherry Johnson, Daniel Moore, Oran Smith, Delan Stevens, Samuel Swad

#### Board Members Not Present: John Bartell, William Turner

**Others Present:** Jamieson Bilella, Brian Bunton, Nedy Campbell, Joshua Chesson, Kevin Cox, University President David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Matthew Hogue, Martha Hunn, Carlos Johnson, Christopher Johnson, Travis Overton, Mike Pruitt (via conference call), Julie Quinn, Diane Sanders, Bryan Steros, Alex Souza, Hanna VonZup, Hope Richardson, Allyson Kunkel, Lexa Samer, Rae'l Jackson

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Two members of the media were in attendance: Ian Brooking of The Chanticleer student newspaper and Tyler Fleming of The Sun News)

Chairman Eugene Spivey brought the Athletics Committee meeting to order at 2:23 p.m.

Patrick Sparks made a motion to approve the October 10, 2019 Athletics Committee meeting minutes. Wyatt Henderson seconded and the motion passed.

Matthew Hogue, Director of Athletics, introduced the all-female student crew that shoots, produces and edits the athletics videos that stream on ESPN Plus. All material that goes to ESPN Plus is student produced and have to meet ESPN's standards. Alex Souza, Hanna VonZup, Hope Richardson, Allyson Kunkel, Lexa Samer and Rae'l Jackson are the main players behind the scenes.

Christopher Johnson, Executive Director of the Chanticleer Athletic Foundation, gave a report on the Chanticleer Athletic Foundation. In regards to football, the West Zone Suite has sold out. THE CAF donations continue to grow with \$579,000 towards the \$737,000 goal. The Chanticleer Gala has sold 48 tables so far and there are only 70 tables total. The gala is a wonderful night and last year there were 600 in attendance.

## Athletics Committee February 20, 2020

As there was no additional business, Spivey moved to adjourn. Sparks seconded and the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydía Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder