Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

12-11-2020

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, December 11, 2020

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Retention Committee, December 11, 2020" (2020). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes.* 762.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/762

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Singleton Ballroom December 11, 2020

Committee Members Present: Oran Smith, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Eugene Spivey

Committee Members Not Present: Daniel Moore, Samuel Swad

Other Board Members Present: John Bartell, William Biggs, Lee Belcher, Natasha Hanna, Wyatt Henderson, Sherry Johnson, George Mullen, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Delan Stevens, William Turner

Board Members Not Present: None

Others Present: Michael Benson, Brandt Branham, Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Richard Green, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Judy Johns, Carlos Johnson, Christopher Johnson, Travis Overton, Peter Paquette, Julie Quinn, Jerry Rashid, Michael Roberts, David Roper, Erika Small, Gregory Thompson

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Three members of the media were in attendance: Katie Powell of MyHorryNews.com, Alan Blondin of The Sun News and Hannah Strong of The Post and Courier)

Chair Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting to order at 8:34 a.m. Chair Smith gave the invocation.

Dalton Floyd moved to approve the October 22, 2020, Academic and Retention Committee meeting minutes. Eugene Spivey seconded and the motion carried.

Floyd moved to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Emeritus Professor title requests for tenured faculty to be awarded upon retirement (Motion 20-AAR-07). Spivey seconded and the motion carried.

Janice Black was awarded the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the time of her retirement.

Floyd moved to approve the request for appointment of Professor of History with Tenure (Motion 20-AAR-08). Spivey seconded and the motion carried.

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee December 11, 2020

President-elect Michael Benson's appointment of Professor of History with Tenure was approved.

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs, Daniel Ennis, presented the enrollment report. The fall 2020 enrollment is down, but the decrease is lower than anticipated. Freshmen applications for fall 2021 are currently down about 3% from last year.

Thus far, the recruitment process has been semi face-to-face with students due to COVID-19. The University has been dutiful in protecting employees and students. Yet, Coastal has learned a lot about COVID-19 and intends to get back on the road again this spring to meet students in person. The University has motivated admission counselors, and there is a plan to get more of them in the upstate and midlands for recruitment.

Chair Smith noted that Faculty Senate Chair, Brian Bunton, presented his Faculty Senate report via writing (attached).

As there was no additional business, Spivey moved to adjourn. Floyd seconded and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

*Lydia Deeck*Lydia Deeck
Recorder