Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

8-8-2019

Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee, August 8, 2019

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee, August 8, 2019" (2019). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 740.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/740

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room August 8, 2019

Committee Members Present: Mr. Lee Belcher, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W.R. Moore, Sr., Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens

Committee Member Not Present: Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Other Board Members Present: Mr. John Bartell, Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Dalton B. Floyd, Jr., Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. William E. Turner, III.

Board Members Not Present: Mr. Patrick Sparks

Others Present: Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. T. Brian Bunton, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Mr. Melvin D. Davis, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Ms. Lydia J. Deeck, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Samuel Fink, Mr. David A. Frost, Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Mr. Carlos Johnson, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Travis Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Dr. Barbra Ritter, Mr. Mike Ryhal, Dr. Renee J. Smith, Mr. Gregory T. Thompson.

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Two members of the media were in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting to order at 2:44 PM.

Wyatt Henderson made a motion to approve the May 9, 2019 Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee meeting minutes. Charles Lewis seconded, and the motion carried.

Daniel Moore made a motion to bestow Distinguished Emeritus Professor to David A. Bankston (Motion 19-42) at his retirement. Lee Belcher seconded. The motion passed.

Wyatt Henderson moved to bestow Distinguished Senior Lecturer to the late Roger K. Johansen. Charles Lewis seconded. The motion passed.

President David DeCenzo expressed his condolences regarding the recent death of Senior Lecturer, Roger Johansen. At graduation the following evening, Johansen's family will receive the Distinguished Senior Lecturer award on behalf of Roger.

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee August 8, 2019

Provost Dan Ennis spoke regarding the recent promotions from Lecturer to Senior Lecturer. These faculty members teach a heavy load each semester and deserve to be recognized.

The following individuals have been promoted to rank of Senior Lecturer: Anthony Audino, George Boneillo, Gregg Buck, Colin Burch, David Doerring, David Fink, Jennifer Green, Rebecca Grouchy, Michael Julius, Victoria Knudsen, Linda Lane, Steven McCartney, Matthew McDonough, Amber McWilliams, Christine Rockey, Brian Roessler, Karen Sauls, Kimberly Schumacher, Lee Shinaberger, Ellison Smith III, Clifford Sosis, and Casey Woodling.

As there was no additional business, Lewis moved to adjourn. Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydía Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder