Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

2-22-2019

Audit Committee, February 22, 2019

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Audit Committee, February 22, 2019" (2019). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 736. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/736

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Audit Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 22, 2019

Committee Members

Present:

Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, and

Mr. H. Delan Stevens

Other Board Members

Present:

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. Dalton B. Floyd Jr., Mr. Carlos C.

Johnson, Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis,

Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J.

Swad, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks,

Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Mr. David A. Frost, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. David Roper, Mr. Mike Ryhal, Ms. Diane Fabiano Sanders, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Bryan

Steros, Mr. Stovall Witte, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media attended.)

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the Audit Committee meeting to order at 9:36 a.m. Two additional trustees were assigned to the Audit Committee--Patrick Sparks and Dalton Floyd.

Delan Stevens moved to approve the minutes of December 14, 2018. Natasha Hanna seconded, and the motion carried.

In October of 2017, Robyn Jones received a directive from the Board of Trustees to conduct an institution-wide assessment of the institution's risks. That has been completed.

Yesterday in Executive Session, Jones received a new directive to evaluate financial/internal controls in the Financial Services Division. Services to be evaluated immediately are: Finance and Control, Budget and Capital Projects, Budget and Financial Planning, Payroll and Procurement. There will be interviews, walk-throughs, observations, evaluations and analyses to determine the extent to which internal controls are in place, properly designed and functioning as intended. The quality of the controls will be assessed.

Audit Committee February 22, 2019

The following charters will not be included in the Board of Trustees bylaws but will be part of the records in the Audit Committee. This will make it easier to make changes/additions without having to generate changes to the bylaws.

Henderson made a motion to present Appendix B - Audit Committee Charter to the full Board for adoption (Motion 19-13). Hanna seconded, and the motion passed.

Henderson moved to present Appendix C - Internal Audit Charter to the full Board for adoption (Motion 19-14). Stevens seconded. The motion carried.

With no further business, Stevens moved to adjourn. Hanna seconded, and the committee adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder