Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

2-21-2019

Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee, February 21, 2019

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee, February 21, 2019" (2019). Board of Trustees Committee Minutes. 731.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/731

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 21, 2019

Committee Members

Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W. R.

Present:

Moore Sr., Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, and

Mr. H. Delan Stevens

Committee Member

Not Present: Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Other Board Members

Present:

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. Dalton B. Floyd Jr., Ms. Natasha M.

Hanna, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, and

Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Ms. Sandra A. Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks,

Ms. Susan M. Butcher, Dr. Brian Bunton, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Julianne H. Cooke, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. Melvin D. Davis, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Samuel H.

Frink, Mr. David A. Frost, Ms. Kasey D. Harrington,

Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Jennifer H. Hughes, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Dr. Gregory L.

Krippel, Ms. Megan McIlreavy, Ms. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Ms. Olga Shabeka, Ms. Todd Setzer, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Gregory T. Thompson,

Dr. Matthew Wilkinson, Mr. David Yancey, and Dr. Robert Young

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. None was in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.

Dan Moore made a motion to approve the December 13, 2018 Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee meeting minutes. Delan Stevens seconded, and the motion carried.

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee February 21, 2019

Faculty Senate Vice-Chair Matthew Wilkinson reported that Faculty Senate will address the following at the March Faculty Senate meeting:

- Ad-hoc committee for redesigning Administrator Evaluation.
- Ad-hoc committee on Nontenure Tract Faculty.
- New Student Evaluation of Teaching trying to have consistent bank of questions for all colleges. Additional specific questions can be added to the individual departments.

Provost & Executive Vice President Ralph Byington reviewed the following motions.

Following the review and approval of Provost Byington, President DeCenzo, and Trustee Oran Smith, the promotion and tenure recommendations are brought to the Board of Trustees for consideration. Dan Moore moved to approve the following recommendations for promotion and/or tenure (Motion 19-08). Stevens seconded. The motion passed by acclamation.

- Nine (9) recommendations for promotion to Associate Professor with tenure: Jonathan Acuff, Shaowu Bao, Mitchell Church, Jessica Doll, Sathish Kumar, Hugh Lamont, Adam Pelty, Clayton Whitesides and Todd Wren.
- One (1) recommendation for promotion to Professor with tenure: Jennifer Altieri.
- Ten (10) recommendations for promotion to Professor: Karen Aguirre, Aneilya Barnes, Richard Costner, Rajendra Dahal, Jeffrey Jones, Michael Scott Mann, Nicholas Pritchard, Talbot Easton Selby, Erika Small and Douglas Van Hoewyk.

Chuck Lewis made a motion to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus to Dennis A. Rauch and Distinguished Senior Lecturer to Robert T. Oliver (Motion 19-09) at their retirement. Gene Spivey seconded. The motion passed.

Wyatt Henderson moved to approve the new program for Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science in Women's and Gender Studies (Motion 19-10). Moore seconded, and the motion carried. Dean Sara Hottinger stated that this major is unique in offering a Bachelor of Science degree that focuses on women in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) in direct response to a recognized need for gender and racial diversity within the STEM fields. It is hoped this focus will serve as a recruitment and retention tool for women who choose to major in STEM fields. Graduates of the program will be well suited for leadership careers in management, communications, and administration within the STEM industry. Provost Ralph Byington said the University conducts a STEM analysis every two years

Ten new programs have been reviewed by the S.C. Commission on Higher Education and nine are in various stages of progress. The communications graduate degree has now been accepted and expected to be very successful.

Personnel updates included congratulating Dean Barbara Ritter for the arrival of a new baby in December. The new College of Graduate Studies and Research Dean Rob Young was

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee February 21, 2019

acknowledged. Dr. Claudia Bornholdt has accepted an offer to be the Dean of Thomas W. and Robin W. Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts. Bornholdt is currently at the Catholic University of America.

As there was no additional business, Dan Moore moved to adjourn. Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey

Chyrel Stalvey Recorder