Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

12-14-2018

Executive Committee, December 14, 2018

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive Committee, December 14, 2018" (2018). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 730. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/730

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Committee and Executive Sessions E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room **December 14, 2018**

Board Members Present:

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Dalton B. Floyd Jr., Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks,

Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens

Board Members Not Present:

Mr. Daniel W.R. Moore Sr., Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and Mr. William E.

Turner III

Others Present:

Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer III, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. David A. Frost, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Jennifer Hughes, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Mr. Mike Ryhal, Ms. Caroline P. Smith, Dr. Reneé Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey,

Mr. Gregory T. Thompson, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Katie Powell of the Horry Independent and Tyler Fleming of the Sun News were in attendance.)

Chairman Bill Biggs brought the Executive Committee to order at 9:06 a.m.

Patrick Sparks made a motion to approve the Executive Committee/Executive Session minutes of August 3, 2018. Carlos Johnson seconded. The motion carried.

Oran Smith moved to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel and contractual matters. Wyatt Henderson seconded. Edgar Dyer was asked to stay in the meeting. Smith moved to come out of executive session and Henderson seconded. It was noted that no action was taken.

Executive Committee and Executive Sessions December 14, 2018

As there was no further business, Gene Spivey moved to adjourn, and Sparks seconded. The meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder

Executive Session Motions attached



Executive Session Motions December 13-14, 2018

Motion to go into Executive Session to review:

Motion 1: Motion to review: Personnel matters regarding presidential transition

<u>Following Individuals remain:</u> President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Associate University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff; Edgar L. Dyer III

INTO EXECUTIVE		OUT OF EXECUTIVE	
	SESSION	SESSION	
MOTION	Charles Lewis	Delan Stevens	
SECOND	John Bartell	John Bartell	

Motion 2: Motion to review: Legal briefing on various matters

Following Individuals remain: President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Associate University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff

	INTO EXECUTIVE	OUT OF EXECUTIVE	
	SESSION	SESSION	
MOTION	Samuel Swad	Charles Lewis	
SECOND	Charles Lewis	Samuel Swad	

<u>Motion 3:</u> Motion to review: University Compliance and Title IX Report containing federally protected information and personnel matters

Following Individuals remain: President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Associate University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff;

		INTO EXECUTIVE	OUT OF EXECUTIVE
_		SESSION	SESSION
	MOTION	Charles Lewis	Samuel Swad
	SECOND	Wyatt Henderson	John Bartell

No action was taken in any of the Executive Sessions.