Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

5-4-2018

Executive and Audit Committee, May 4, 2018

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive and Audit Committee, May 4, 2018" (2018). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 712. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/712

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Session May 3, 2018

Board Members Present:	Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, and Mr. William E. Turner III
Board Members Not Present:	Mr. William L. Lyles Jr. and Dr. Samuel J. Swad
Others Present:	Ms. Katherine M. Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton

Chairman Bill Biggs brought the Executive Session to order at 12:20 p.m. The following five Executive Sessions were held:

- <u>Review contractual matters regarding philanthropic gifts:</u> Motion to enter into Executive Session Wyatt Henderson and to go out of Executive Session Dan Moore. No action was taken.
- <u>Review contractual matters involving the CEF:</u> Motion to enter into Executive Session Henderson and Moore and to go out of Executive Session Will Turner and Gene Spivey. No action was taken.
- <u>Review legal briefing to discuss legal matters:</u> Motion to enter into Executive Session Turner and Chuck Lewis and to go out of Executive Session Henderson and John Bartell. No action was taken.
- <u>Review contractual matter regarding campus consultant:</u> Motion to enter into Executive Session Wyatt Henderson and Dan Moore and to go out of Executive Session Will Turner and Gene Spivey. No action was taken.
- <u>Review the Title IX Report containing federally protected information and personnel matters:</u> Motion to enter into Executive Session Turner and Henderson and to go out of Executive Session Henderson and Turner. No action was taken.

As there was no further business, the Executive Session ended.

Executive & Audit Committee May 3-4, 2018

Executive & Audit Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room May 4, 2018	
Board Members Present:	Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W. R Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, and Mr. William E. Turner III
Board Members Not Present:	Mr. William L. Lyles Jr. and Dr. Samuel J. Swad
Others Present:	Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Ms. Julie Cheney, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Darla J. Domke-Damonte, Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Jennifer Hughes, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Mr. David A. Frost, Mr. Stephen H. Harrison, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Dr. Megan McIlreavy, Dr. Mikel A. Norris, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Mr. Mark A. Roach, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Ms. Olga Shabeka, Ms. Pat Singleton-Young, Ms. Carolyn Smith, Dr. Reneé Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Gregory T. Thompson, Mr. Stovall Witte, and Mr. David Yancey,

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Katie Powell of the <u>Horry</u> <u>Independent</u> was in attendance.)

Chairman Bill Biggs brought the Executive & Audit Committee meeting to order at 9:45 a.m.

Biggs moved to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2018 Executive and Audit Committee meeting. Carlos Johnson seconded, and the motion passed.

Oran Smith made a motion to amend the Board of Trustees Bylaws to establish a standing Audit Committee (Motion 18-36). Gene Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Biggs appointed Wyatt Henderson to serve as chair of the Audit Committee with Delan Stevens and Natasha Hanna serving as additional members of this committee.

Oran Smith and Carlos Johnson moved to go into Executive Session to discuss legal issues. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Executive & Audit Committee May 3-4, 2018

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder