## Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

**Board of Trustees Committee Minutes** 

**Board of Trustees** 

2-15-2018

# Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee, February 15, 2018

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

#### Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee, February 15, 2018" (2018). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 701.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/701

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

#### Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

#### Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 15, 2018

**Committee Members** 

**Present:** 

Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens,

and Dr. Samuel J. Swad

**Committee Members** 

**Not Present:** 

Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr.

**Other Board Members** 

**Present:** 

Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr.,

Mr. George E. Mullen, and Mr. William E. Turner

Others Present: Ms. Sandra A. Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine Brooks,

Ms. Susan Butcher, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Melvin Davis, Dr. David A. DeCenzo,

Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara

Hottinger, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy

E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Mr. Mark A. Roach, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Gregory T.

Thompson, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media was in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting to order at 9:54 a.m.

Sam Swad moved to approve the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee minutes of October 26, 2017. Delan Stevens seconded. The motion carried.

Faculty Senate Chair Renée Smith handed out a "Teacher Scholars Statement" that recently passed Faculty Senate and will be included in the Faculty Manual.

At the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) spring forum on March 23, President David DeCenzo will be the keynote speaker presenting "Shared Governance," and Dean Sara Hottinger will present "Diversity." The local AAUP will be nominating President DeCenzo for the Shared Governance Award.

### Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee February 15, 2018

Hottinger reviewed information regarding the Honors Council process to develop the proposal for an honors college. An honors college will be a primary driver in improving both the overall academic caliber of the undergraduate population, and the institution's statewide and national reputation.

Sam Swad moved to establish a Coastal Carolina University Honors College. Wyatt Henderson seconded, and the motion passed (Motion 18-03).

Provost and Executive Vice President Ralph Byington stated that CCU is the only university in South Carolina to have SACS approval for three doctorate degrees.

Dean Ed Jadallah reported that a survey was sent to our five-county regional community teachers. There were 491 respondents: 357 strongly agreed or agreed to pursue a Ph.D. at CCU of which 267 were from Horry and Georgetown counties. Of the 491 respondents, 481 said that their decision to pursue a Ph.D. was the close proximity of the university. The respondents are not looking for online courses but interaction with our faculty. The proposal for an Interdisciplinary Ph.D. in Education was reviewed.

Gene Spivey made a motion to approve the establishment of the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. in Education as an advanced program in the College of Education (Motion 18-04). Chuck Lewis seconded. The motion carried.

Spivey accept the Thompson family estate gift on behalf of the Kimbel Library (Motion 18-15). Stevens seconded. The motion carried.

Stevens moved to approve the establishment of a University Archives and Special Collections as part of the Kimbel Library and in accordance with the Strategic Plan (Motion 18-05). Turner seconded, and the motion was approved.

Henderson moved to name Deborah Vrooman as Honorary Curator of the new University Archives and Special Collections (Motion 18-16). Stevens seconded, and the voting was unanimous.

Lewis made a motion to approve Joseph H. Moglia, Executive Director of Football Operations/Chair of the University Athletic Department and the board chairman of TD Ameritrade as the May 2018 commencement speaker (Motion 18-06). Henderson seconded, and everyone was in agreement.

The S.C. Commission on Higher Education updates were included in everyone's packets.

Spivey moved and Henderson seconded to go into executive session to review contractual agreement regarding an outside party. No action was taken.

Swad moved and Henderson seconded to go into executive session to review personnel matters.

## Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee February 15, 2018

No action was taken.

Wyatt Henderson moved to approve the following recommendations for promotion and/or tenure recommendations: nineteen recommendations for promotion to Associate Professor with tenure - Johnson Agbo, James Arendt, Ariana Baker, Miranda Brenneman, Kimberly Carroll, Jason Cholewa, Eric Crawford, Andrew Czekanski, Diane Fribrance, Amy Fyn, Eric Hackett, Daniel Hasty, Richard Kilroy, Miket Norris, Richard Peterson, Catherine Scott, Jason Smith, Bryan Wakefield, Daniel Williams; two recommendations for promotion to Associate Librarian with tenure: Ariana Baker, Amy Fynn; ten recommendations for promotion to Professr: Melissa Clark, Carolyn Dillian, Dennis Earl, Jean French Suheir Daoud, Vladislav Gulis, Julinna Oxley, Louis Rubbo, Jose Sanjines, and Amy Tully; and two recommendations for tenutre: Roi Gurka, til Jens Hanebuth (Motion 18-01). Gene Spivey seconded. The motion carried.

Henderson made a motion to approve the bestowing of Distinguished Professor Emeritus to Maura H. Kenny and Emeritus Professor to Gregory C. Geer at their retirement (Motion 18-02). Delan Stevens seconded, and the motion passed.

As there was no further business, Stevens moved to adjourn and Spivey seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey

Chyrel Stalvey Recorded