Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

2-23-2017

Executive and Audit Committee, February 23-24, 2017

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive and Audit Committee, February 23-24, 2017" (2017). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 674. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/674

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Session and Executive & Audit Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 22-23, 2017

Executive Session – Thursday, February 23, 2017

Board Members	Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M.
Present:	Hannah, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,
	Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L.
	Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen,
	Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene c. Spivey, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and
	Mr. William E. Turner III
Others Present:	Mr. Michael Bordoni, Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph
	Byington, Ms. Meredith Canady, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr.
	Hunter Duke, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Henrietta Golding, Mr. Timothy
	E. Meacham, Ms. Mr. Travis E. Overton, and Ms. Denise Perez,

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. to discuss legal updates and went into Executive Session.

Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP has been hired as the external auditor for the University. Hunter Duke and Michael Bordoni were introduced.

Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken during executive session.

Oran Smith moved to approve the following promotion and/or tenure recommendations (Motion 17-10). Sam Frink seconded, and the motion carried.

- Eight recommendations for promotion to associate Professor with tenure: Lindsey Bell, Monica Fine, Joseph Fitsanakis, Jeffrey Halverson, and Kevin McWilliams
- One recommendation for promotion to Associate Librarian Scott Bacon
- Eleven recommendations for promotion to Professor: Jen Boyle, Jason Eastman, Sharon Gilman, Keshav Jagannathan, William Jones, Joseph Oestrich, Robert Salvino, Kerry Schwaz, Holley Tankersley, Eric Wright, and Min Ye
- One promotion to Libriarian: Jennifer Hughes
- Five promotions to Tenure: Melissa Clark, Howard Coleman, Corrine Dalelio, Gary Schmidt, and Richard Viso

As there was nothing further to discuss, the Executive Session adjourned.

Executive & Audit Committee – February 24, 2017

Board Members Present:	Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hannah, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene c. Spivey, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and Mr. William E. Turner III
Others Present:	Ms. Stacie Bowie, Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Ms. Lori Church, Dr. Debbie Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Mr. Matthew Hogue, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Melissa Jarrard, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Carissa Medeiros, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, and Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media was in attendance.)

Chairman D. Wyatt Henderson brought the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Larry Lyles moved to approve the minutes of December 16, 2016 Executive & Audit Committee/Executive Session. Will Turner seconded, and the motion passed.

Chuck Lewis moved to approve a resolution commending the Clemson University football team, especially for attaining the 2016 National Championship (Motion 17-17). Larry Lyles seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

RESOLUTION State of South Carolina County of Horry Coastal Carolina University

WHEREAS, Coastal Carolina University recognizes and celebrates the achievements of the Clemson University Football program, especially attaining the 2016 National Championship; and

WHEREAS, with the dramatic win in the last second over Alabama, Head Coach Dabo Swinney became just the second person in history to win an AP National Championship as a player and coach; and

WHEREAS, Clemson University won the 2016 ACC Championship for the 16th time; and

Executive & Audit Committee February 23-24, 2017

WHEREAS, the football program attained a 14-1 record that marks its sixth straight top-25 finish.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees enthusiastically commends the Clemson University football team, and Head Coach Dabo Swinney and his staff and support team for an outstanding season that led to the 2016 National Championship, and has brought tremendous pride to Clemson University, the state of South Carolina, and beyond. Done this 24 day of February, Two Thousand and Seventeen.

Chuck Lewis moved to go into Execution Session to discuss personnel matters. Bill Biggs seconded. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

As there was nothing further to discuss, Carlos Johnson moved to adjourn and Sam Frink seconded.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder