Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

5-5-2016

Executive and Audit Committee, May 5-6, 2016

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive and Audit Committee, May 5-6, 2016" (2016). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 650. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/650

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Sessions and Executive & Audit Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room May 5-6, 2016

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

Executive & Audit Committee Meeting – May 5, 2016

Board Members Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hannah, Mr. D. Wyatt **Present:** Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles

E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W.R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel W. Swad, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Josh Chesson, Dr.

David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Beverly J. Landrum, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Ms.

Kathy T. Watts

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Claire Byun of <u>The Sun News</u>, Scott Harper of <u>The Horry Independent</u>, and Jonee' Lewis of WBTW 13 were in attendance.)

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the Executive & Audit Committee meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

Gene Spivey made a motion to approve the Executive & Audit Committee minutes of February 19, 2016. Will Turner seconded. The motion carried.

Spivey moved to go into Executive Session to discuss contractual matters as related to athletic naming opportunities. Turner seconded, and the motion carried. No action was taken during the meeting.

The meeting adjourned.

Executive & Audit Committee May 5-6, 2016

There were several Executive Sessions during the two days of meetings that really dealt with matters outside of the committees where they were brought forward. The minutes follow.

Executive Session during Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee - May 5, 2016

Board Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M.

Members Present: Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran

P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell,

Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and

Ms. Kathy T. Watts

Wyatt Henderson brought the Executive Session to order at 10:00 a.m. Will Turner moved to go into Executive Session to discuss the renovation reserve and finances for the proposed stadium upgrades. Spivey seconded, and motion carried. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Turner made a motion to give President DeCenzo the authority to use whatever necessary, including transferring money from renovation and reserve amount, to use for the construction of the proposed stadium expansion while making his presentation to S.C. Commission on Higher Education today. Spivey seconded, Hanna nayed, and the motion passed.

Executive Session during Student Affairs & Retention Committee - May 5, 2016

Board Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M.

Members Present: Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, and Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Dr. David A.

DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Beverly J. Landrum,

Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer

Packard, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Ms. Kathy T. Watts

Executive & Audit Committee May 5-6, 2016

Wyatt Henderson moved to go into Executive Session at 11:30 a.m. to receive legal updates and Oran Smith seconded. After coming out of Executive Session, it was noted that no action was taken.

They immediately went back into Executive Session to discuss contracts. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Larry Lyles moved to ratify a memorandum of understanding between Coastal Carolina University and the City of Myrtle Beach for our security staff to support security efforts during Bike Week. Dan Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

Executive Session Friday Morning - May 6, 2016

Board Members Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M.

Present: Hannah, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E.

Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen,

Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens,

and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Ms. Sandra A. Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Carolyn S. Bender,

Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. Brian Bunton, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Josh Chesson, Ms. Lori Church,

Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Mr. Timothy E.

Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr.,

Mr. Mark Roach, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Ms. Kathy T. Watts

Wyatt Henderson brought the Executive Session to order at 9:30 a.m. and immediately went into Executive Session to receive legal updates and receive notification of cancellation of the bookstore contract.

Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Edgar Dyer reported that the external President's Compensation Ad-hoc Committee (Robert Rabon, Nancy Jarret, and Clark Parker) had met and made recommendations.

Gene Spivey made a motion to receive and approve the recommendation of special committee on presidential compensation, acknowledging that the additional compensation above current package is not paid for by Coastal Carolina University, but is paid for with funding provided by the Coastal Educational Foundation (Motion 16-23). This increase is commensurate to President DeCenzo's dedication and outstanding service to the University. Wyatt Henderson seconded, and the motion carried. Natasha Hanna abstained from voting.

Executive & Audit Committee May 5-6, 2016

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey Recorder