## Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

**Board of Trustees Committee Minutes** 

**Board of Trustees** 

2-18-2016

# Executive and Audit Committee, February 18-19, 2016

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

#### Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive and Audit Committee, February 18-19, 2016" (2016). Board of Trustees Committee Minutes. 644.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/644

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

#### **Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes**

#### **Executive Session and Executive & Audit Committee** E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 18-19, 2016

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

#### **Executive Session - February 18, 2016**

**Board Members** Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. **Present:** 

Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hannah, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson,

Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, and Mr.

William E. Turner III

**Others Present:** Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Ms. Beverly J.

Landrum, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Ms. Chyrel Stalvey, and Ms.

Kathy T. Watts

Board of Trustees Vice President Chuck Lewis brought the Executive Session to order at 12:30 p.m. to receive legal updates and notification of the cancellation of the bookstore contract. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

The committee went back into executive session to discuss the football stadium contract. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action taken.

The meeting adjourned.

#### Executive & Audit Committee Meeting – February 19, 2016

**Board Members** Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. **Present:** 

Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hannah, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson,

Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, and

Mr. William E. Turner III

**Others Present:** Ms. April S. Betsch Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell,

Mr. Josh Chesson, Dr. Debbie Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr.

### Executive & Audit Committee February 18, 2016

Edgar L. Dyer, Mr. Matt Hogue, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Mr. Mark Kelley, Ms. Beverly J. Landrum, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Mr. Mark Roach, Mr. Joseph F. Singleton, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Dr. Amy H. Tully, Ms. Kathy T. Watts, Mr. Stovall Witte, Mr. Tyler Wyeth, and Mr. David Yancey

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the Executive & Audit Committee meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

Carlos Johnson made a motion to approve the Executive & Audit Committee minutes of October 1 and December 11, 2015. Delan Stevens seconded, and the motion carried.

Henderson noted that a new Board of Trustees photo will be made at the May meeting with the new robes. Everyone was encouraged to try to be in attendance.

Will Turner moved to go into Executive Session to review a policy revision for naming rights. Delan Stevens seconded. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

The committee went back into Executive Session to discuss contractual and personnel issues as it relates to the president's contract. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Henderson moved to direct President DeCenzo to renew the contract with Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP for three years and bring it back to the May meeting for review. Larry Lyles seconded and the motion carried (Motion 16-16).

Gene Spivey made a motion to establish an external executive compensation committee chaired by Eddie Dyer with Clark Parker, Nancy Jarrett and Robert Rabon also on the committee. Johnson seconded, and the motion carried (Motion 16-17).

As there was no further business, Spivey moved to adjourn and Carlos Johnson seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey Recorder