Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

5-8-2014

Executive and Audit Committee, May 8-9, 2014

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive and Audit Committee, May 8-9, 2014" (2014). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 591. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/591

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive & Audit Committee Wall Board Room May 8-9, 2014

Board Members Present:

Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. Robert G. Templeton, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Board Members

Not Present: Mr. Gary W. Brown, Mr. George E. Mullen, and Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Others Present: Ms. Sandy A. Baldridge, Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. J. Ralph Byington,

Ms. Lori Church, Dr. Debbie Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Mr. Mark Kelley, Ms. B.J. Landrum, Dr. Steven J. Madden, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Mr. Mark A. Roach, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and

Mr. Gregory W. Thornburg

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m. on Thursday, May 8 and stated that Executive Session will be split into four sessions throughout the day. On Friday, May 9, there would be an Executive & Audit Committee meeting.

In attendance on May 8 were: Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Fred F. "Trip" DuBard III, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Beverly J. Landrum, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer A. Packard, Ms. Denise L. Perez, Mr. William M. "Bill" Plate Jr., Chief David Roper and Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey

Sympathy was extended to the family of George Mullen whose father passed away on Wednesday. Arrangements are uncertain at this time, and information will be shared when received.

New trustee Fred F. "Trip" DuBard III was introduced. He is currently the Executive Director of S. C. Future Minds, a statewide charity based in Florence that organizes private support for public schools. Prior to that, he was a journalist for several years. He looks forward to serving on the Board of Trustees.

Executive & Audit Committee May 8-9, 2014

The following items were reviewed on Thursday, May 8:

- 1. During the Executive Committee, Will Turner moved to go into executive session to discuss legal issues and Larry Lyles seconded. The motion passed. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken. The meeting recessed.
- 2. After the Government Affairs Committee meeting, executive session was called to review contractual and personnel issues. A list of projects that Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough worked on during 2013-2014 was reviewed.

Upon reconvening, Natasha Hanna moved to renew the Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough contract with the same conditions and terms as last year for another year. Turner seconded and the motion passed.

3. After the Academic & Assessment Committee and Executive Session, the following motions were made:

Will Turner moved to approve the recommendation for promotion from Lecturer to Senior Lecturer for P. Jay Zeltner and Dale Quinn. Robert Templeton seconded, and the motion carried (14-27).

Oran Smith moved to award Distinguished Professor Emeritus to Gary Stegall at his retirement. Templeton seconded, and the motion carried (14-28).

4. After the Finance, Facilities and Planning Committee, the trustees went into Executive Session, and no action was taken.

Chuck Lewis made a motion to approve the lease of the office space at 909 Front Street and of 180' of Dock Space from The Georgetown Agency from July 1, 2014, through September 30, 2014, payable at \$2,360 per month. Beginning October 1, 2014, the University will lease the property for eight years (October 1, 2014 – September 30, 2022) at an annual rate of \$5 from the CEF, all of this pending purchase of said property by Georgetown County. Turner, and the motion was approved (Motion 14-20).

The Executive Session adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

Executive & Audit Committee Meeting on Friday, May 9, 2014:

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Heather Gale of the Horry Independent and Vicki Grooms of the Sun News were in attendance.)

Present: Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. Barbara A. Burd, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Mr. Joshua Chesson, Ms. Lori Church, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. Debbie Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo,

Executive & Audit Committee May 8-9, 2014

Mr. Fred F. "Trip" DuBard III, Dr. Edgar L. Dyer, Mr. Bill Edmonds, Coach Cliff Ellis, Mr. Matt Hogue, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Mr. Chris Johnson, Mr. Mark Kelley, Ms. Meghan Laffin, Dr. James O. Luken, Dr. Steven J. Madden, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Dr. Karen A. Maguire, Ms. Eliana Padron, Mr. William M. "Bill" Plate Jr., Chief David Roper, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Gregory W. Thompson, Mr. Gregory T. Thornburg, Mr. Dennis Wade, Ms. Kathy T. Watts, Ms. Sandra W. Williams, Mr. David Yancey, Mr. Stovall Witte

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Gene Spivey moved to approve the minutes of February 13, 2014 for Executive and Audit Committees and Will Turner seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

On Thursday, August 7, 2014, there will be a Board of Trustees retreat with a facilitator regarding trustee roles and responsibilities. Everyone was encouraged to attend the training; however, if you cannot be in attendance, the training will be made available.

At the retirement of secretary/treasurer Larry Biddle from the Board, Henderson appointed an ad hoc committee to bring forward nominations for secretary/treasurer and vice chair. The committee will include Henderson as chair, Sam Frink, and Larry Lyles.

The next 2014 Board meeting dates are August 7-8, October 23-24, and December 11-12.

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey