Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

10-10-2013

Government Affairs Committee, October 10, 2013

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Government Affairs Committee, October 10, 2013" (2013). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 580. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/580

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Government Affairs Committee E. Craig Wall Jr., Board Room October 10, 2013

Committee Dr. Larry L. Biddle, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M.

Members Present: Hanna and Mr. William L. Lyles Jr.

Committee Members

Members Present:

Not Present: Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr.

Other Board Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B.

Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Ms. Carolyn S. Bender, Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. J. Ralph

Byington, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. B. J. Landrum, Dr. Steven J. Madden, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William W. Plate Jr., Ms. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Greg Thompson, Mr. Gregory W.

Thornburg and Mr. John Vrooman

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Heather Gale of the Horry Independent and Vicki Grooms of the Sun News were in attendance.)

Chairman Larry Lyles brought the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

Lyles moved to approve the Government Affairs Committee minutes of July 18, 2013. Sam Frink seconded and the motion carried.

Mark Kelley reported that the General Assembly is not in session. An old issue is the Teaching Fellows Scholarship Program which Senator Hayes is working on to have it available to all South Carolina universities.

David DeCenzo reported that the governor continues efforts to change higher education to accountability based funding but has little support from the General Assembly, which could be because it would require additional funding.

Coastal Carolina's main goal is to increase recurring funding. We are the least funded of all universities receiving only 4.9% funding from the state which is controlled by the state. We are fortunate to have a member of the Horry-Georgetown Delegation on the House Ways and Means Committee.

Government Affairs Committee October 10, 2013

On the Federal level, Nelson Mullins continues to work on grant opportunities. Thoughts are to invite the congressional delegation to Coastal Carolina to see our research vessel and let them see firsthand that we have a research program second to none. The vessel will be presented to the public on November 14 and also at Georgetown at a later date. More information will come when available.

Talks continue about transitioning from textbooks to electronic books.

DeCenzo reported that Sam Frink has been added to the Executive Committee of the MBREDC. Horry-Georgetown Tech College and Coastal Carolina are partners with economic development.

As there was no further business, Lyles presented a motion to adjourn and Dan Moore seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey for Larry L. Biddle Secretary/Treasurer