Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

7-18-2013

Executive Committee, July 18, 2013

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Executive Committee, July 18, 2013" (2013). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 572. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/572

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Committee Wall Board Room July 18, 2013

Board Members

Dr. Larry L. Biddle, Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink,

Present: Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith,

Mr. Eugene C. Spivey and Dr. Samuel J. Swad, Mr. Robert G. Templeton

and Mr. William E. Turner III

Board Members

Not Present: Mr. Gary W. Brown and Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr.

Others Present: Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Dr. David A. DeCenzo,

Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Keshav

Jagannathan, Dr. Steven J. Madden, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. William W. Plate Jr., Ms. April E. Sager, Ms. Eileen D. Soisson,

Ms. Chyrel Stalvey and Mr. Gregory W. Thornburg

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the meeting to order.

Robert Templeton moved to approve the Executive Committee minutes of May 9, 2013 and Gene Spivey seconded. The motion carried.

David DeCenzo noted that 84% of students leave a university because of poor service. In order to improve retention rates, Eileen Soisson has been appointed director of service excellence and April Sager as university concierge.

Soisson stated that she is trying to create a culture of exceptional service in order to *Feel the Teal* by offering eight modules of training. The first one was a basic service training in order to have consistent service throughout campus. Training has resulted in a change in service culture with heightened awareness and quality assurance reports.

Sager, in a distributed handout, noted that *Chant 411* is part of *Feel the Teal* and its mission is to provide a central point of contact for students, families, faculty, staff and visitors who want a question answered or need guidance navigating the University system. The goal is to enhance the Coastal Carolina experience by providing first-class service and connecting individuals with the right resources. The program had a soft opening this summer with freshmen.

Executive Committee July 18, 2013

Thirteen student workers are busy answering phones, e-mails and texts. *Feel the Teal* is contagious. Every conversation ends by asking if there is anything else we can help you with and have a "Tealtastic" day. David DeCenzo has purchased big tricycles for *Chant 411* to ride around campus, answering questions, handing out water on hot days, and providing other resources

Edgar Dyer stated that on the staff side these initiatives will help to provide good academic service and the faculty side there will be student success.

Dan Ennis reviewed the proposed Code of Ethical Conduct. Dr. David DeCenzo had charged the Strategic Management Committee to write a formal Code of Ethics after a request from the Compliance Officer. A committee chaired by Ennis with members Julinna Oxley, Brian Forbus, Sandy Williams, Greg Thornburg, Desmond Wallace and Keshav Jagannathan set about to provide a code of ethics for employees so that everyone abides and lives by the same rules. The code will serve as a general guide for ethical questions and is an umbrella statement of values upon which other policies will follow. The Executive Staff, Staff Advisory Committee and Student Government Association have approved this code and it was also shared with the Alumni Board. Faculty Senate has also approved the code.

Oran Smith moved to approve the University Code of Ethic Conduct as written. Bill Biggs seconded and the motion carried (Motion 13-41).

Gene Spivey moved and Biggs seconded to go into Executive Session to discuss contractual and legal matters. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

As there was no further business, Will Turner moved to adjourn and Templeton seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey for Larry L. Biddle Secretary Treasurer