Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

10-21-2010

Academic and Student Affairs Committee, October 21, 2010

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic and Student Affairs Committee, October 21, 2010" (2010). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 502. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/502

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic & Student Affairs Committee E. Craig Wall Sr. School of Business Administration Building, Board Room October 21, 2010

Members of the Committee Present:	Mr. Larry L. Biddle, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Dr. Michael S. Ruse, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, and Mr. Robert G. Templeton
Committee Members Absent:	Mr. Joseph L. Carter
Other Board Members Present:	Mr. William H. Alford, Mr. Gary W. Brown, Mr. R. Duke Brown, Mr. J. Wayne George, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., and Dr. Samuel J. Swad
Others Present:	Ms. McKenzie Bayer, Ms. Stacie Bowie, Ms. Whitney R. Comer, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Edgar L. Dyer, Ms. Paula D. Drummond, Mr. Taylor Eubanks, Ms. Mary Ewen, Mr. Will Garland, Ms. Holly Gerkec, Mr. Damien Hall, Ms. Haven L. Hart, Mr. Lawson Holland, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Holly Legg, Ms. Anne T. Monk, Mr. Gokhan Orho, Dr. Michael Ruse, Dr. Rob Sheehan, Dr. Judy W. Vogt, Ms. Jennifer Packard, and Ms. Chyrel Stalvey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

Dr. Oran Smith brought the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the July 15, 2010 Academic & Student Affairs Committee meeting minutes and Mr. Sam Frink seconded. The motion passed.

Dr. Michael Ruse reported that the Faculty Senate Calendar Committee has passed the 2010-2011 calendar to allow us to be in sync with Horry-Georgetown Technical School in terms of starting and ending school and spring break dates. It is hoped to eventually do the same with Horry County Schools. Academic Affairs has set in place a paperless system so that curriculum changes flow through the system without any paper. Faculty Welfare Development Committee is continuing to study the salary compression issue. There are a number of proposals written for selecting a Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP), which is a new part of the SACS accreditation. The QEP will be a challenge to our teacher-scholar model.

Academic & Student Affairs Committee October 21, 2010

Student Government Association President Taylor Eubanks distributed a 2010-2011 Executive Report noting accomplishments last year and plans for this year.

He will be participating in the gubernatorial debates next Tuesday night on C-SPAN, and plans to ask the candidates why it is that Coastal Carolina University, the fastest growing institution in the state, is continually the least funded. Mr. Biddle encouraged Mr. Eubanks to preface his question by stating that he is a South Carolinian and aware that there are great students from all over the country.

Dr. Smith asked about the parking situation and Mr. Eubanks responded that it is slowly getting better as students are educated to park in lots further from their destination.

Dr. Sheehan noted that five high quality faculty will be on scholarly reassignment for one semester only—Susan Webb, Maggie Ivanova, Brian Nance, Steve Earnest and Gary Stegall. Their colleagues tend to double up and teach another course while they are on leave without adding further costs to the University. Dr. Stegall has also earned the Fulbright Award that is occurring at the same time of his scholarly reassignment.

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing Degree been has approved by CHE and we are in the final stages of the approval process with SACS. We have received permission to recruit a class starting in January 2011. We expect 20-25 students coming into the program. It will be offered entirely on the Grand Strand Campus of Horry-Georgetown Technical School.

Because of budget restrictions, the addition of new majors is slowing. Current majors are being carefully reviewed to make sure that they are cost effective.

The University is in the process of performing the self-study process for SACS reaccreditation, which will be completed by August 2011; and, the self-study process for NCAA reaccreditation needs to be finished by April 2011. NCAA will be paying particular attention to gender equity.

Dr. DeCenzo has mandated that all faculty and supervisors at the University will attend sexual harassment training over the next couple of months.

Dean Haven Hart noted that Whitney Comer has re-energized homecoming and brought in more social activities with the help of Paula Drummond who is now the Coordinator of Student Organizations & Leadership. One of the many new things to come is a brand new leadership program, the CINO Quest Leadership Program.

Ms. Comer said that the idea for the program was to bring in a small group of 50 freshmen to provide leadership training, as well as give them a deeper connection to Coastal Carolina's history, traditions and community. Ms. Drummond developed the program and Damien Hall, student intern, also took on a large leadership role in the inaugural program. Twelve-thirteen other upper classmen also served as student leaders for the program. About 90% of the students who were involved are now actively involved on campus--student government, fraternities/sororities, residence hall associations, SCREAM, or general school club/organization.

Academic & Student Affairs Committee October 21, 2010

Next year there will be two sessions in June and July with 50-75 students in each session in order to keep the intimate closeness of the groups.

Student leaders Mary Ewen and Damien Hall and new freshmen, Holly Gerkec, Gokhan Orho and McKenzie Bayer, talked about the impact that the CINO Quest Leadership Program has made on them. The student leaders enjoyed getting to know the new freshmen and mentoring. The freshmen felt immediately a part of group and learned about the various clubs and the layout of campus. They even found out more about themselves through the role playing games and felt more prepared for the new semester.

Mr. Gene Spivey asked the students if they would like to change the mascot from the Chanticleer, the final link to the University of South Carolina, to something else. The students wanted to keep the tradition of the Chanticleer.

As there were personnel matters to discuss, Mr. Frink moved to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters and Mr. Biddle seconded. No action was taken.

Mr. Lyles moved to recognize distinguished service by awarding Distinguished Professor Emeritus to Michael Lackey and Albert J. Taylor at their retirement. Mr. Swad seconded and the motion passed (Motion 10-45).

Mr. Frink moved to award December commencement speaker Dick Raskopf an honorary degree for Doctor of Letters. Mr. Biddle seconded and the motion passed (Motion 10-46).

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Samuel H. Frink Secretary/Treasurer

NOTE:

Prior to the Government Committee, Dr. Rob Sheehan and Ms. Holly Legg, Assessment Coordinator in Institutional Research, made a presentation on the dashboard indicators.