Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes

Board of Trustees

1-12-2007

Academic Affairs Committee, January 12, 2007

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Academic Affairs Committee, January 12, 2007" (2007). *Board of Trustees Committee Minutes*. 369. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-committees/369

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Committee Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Academic Affairs Committee E. Craig Wall College of Business Board Room Friday, January 12, 2007

Committee Members Present:	Mr. J. Wayne George, Dr. James F. Kane, Dr. Oran Smith, Mr. Tommy M. Stringer Dr. Samuel Swad
Others Present:	Dr. David DeCenzo, Ms. Susan Talbot

Dr. Oran Smith called the meeting to order.

Dr. James Kane moved to approve the minutes of the Academic Affairs Committee for October 5, 2006; motion was seconded and carried.

Dr. Smith reviewed the nominees for Commencement Speaker and Honorary Degree recipients presented by the Honorary Degree Committee:

Commencement Speaker Honorary Degree Recipients	Dr. Ronald Ingle General James Hackler
	James C. Benton
	Judy Ingle
	Josephine Humphreys

Mr. George moved to accept the recommendations of the Honorary Degree Committee; Dr. Kane seconded and the motion carried.

Dr. Smith asked Dr. DeCenzo to review the application of Dr. Michael Roberts for hire with tenure as the Dean of the College of Natural and Applied Sciences. **Mr. George moved to accept the recommendation of hire with tenure of Dr. Roberts; seconded by Dr. Swad and carried.**

Dr. Smith moved to approve the following professors for Emeritus Status; Mr. George seconded and the motion carried.

> Dr. Gerald V. Boyles - Distinguished Professor Emeritus Dr. William R. Hamilton- Emeritus Professor Dr. Charles Joyner – Distinguished Professor Emeritus Dr. Richard A. Koesterer – Emeritus Professor Dr. Virginia B. Levsen – Emeritus Professor Dr. Randall A. Wells – Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Dr. Smith asked Dr. DeCenzo to explain the Kearns Palmetto Professorship. Dr. DeCenzo explained that this is an endowed professorship established to attract and retain outstanding faculty who are making or who show promise of making substantial contributions to Coastal Carolina University through teaching. The current recipient is Dr. Paul Gayes. There were five nominees for the Professorship, all with very strong credentials; however, Dr. Sara Sanders clearly rose to the top.

Dr. Smith made a motion to accept Dr. Sanders as the Kearns Palmetto Professorship; Dr. Swad seconded and the motion carried.

Provost Report

Dr. DeCenzo reported on the First Year Experience Program. Retention levels for freshman in Fall of 2006 have increased over Fall 2005 and Spring 2006. Dr. DeCenzo reported that the MBA program is off to a great start. In the Fall of 2006 there were 30 students signed on and Spring of 2007 there will be 43 in the program. The new MBA Director, Mr. John Lox, has been on board since January 1, 2007. Dr. DeCenzo reported that Dr. Donald Schunk has been hired as Research Economist. Dr. Schunk has served as the South Carolina Economist. The Myrtle Beach Chamber of Commerce has agreed to supplement his salary. It was reported that the "dashboard indicators" program is moving forward. Dr. DeCenzo passed out two handouts: "Trends in Credit Hour Production-Fall Semester" and "Enrollment History and Projections". Copies attached.

Mr. George made a motion that the meeting be adjourned. Motion was seconded and carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Talbot for Samuel H. Frink Secretary/Treasurer