Coastal Carolina University CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

Board of Trustees

2-21-2020

Board of Trustees Minutes, February 21, 2020

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-minutes

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Board of Trustees Minutes, February 21, 2020" (2020). *Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes*. 147. https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-minutes/147

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University

Board of Trustees

E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room

February 21, 2020

Presiding: Chairman William S. Biggs

Board Members Present: Lee Belcher, William Biggs, Dalton Floyd, Natasha Hanna, Sherry Johnson, Daniel Moore, George Mullen, Oran Smith, Patrick Sparks, Eugene Spivey, Delan Stevens, Samuel Swad

Board Members Not Present: John Bartell, Wyatt Henderson, William Turner

Others Present: Jamieson Bilella, Nedy Campbell, Joshua Chesson, Amanda Craddock, University President David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Matthew Hogue, Martha Hunn, Edward Jadallah, Carlos Johnson, Travis Overton, Julie Quinn, Barbara Ritter, Mike Rhyal, Bryan Steros, Gregory Thompson, Stovall Witte

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. One member of the media was in attendance: Tyler Fleming of The Sun News.)

Chairman William Biggs brought the Board meeting to order at 11:33 a.m. It was noted that trustees John Bartell, Wyatt Henderson and William Turner were excused. Oran Smith offered an invocation.

Order of Business

Roll call was taken by Administrative Assistant Nedy Campbell.

II. Approval of Minutes

Dalton Floyd moved to approve the December 17, 2019 full Board of Trustees minutes. Sherry Johnson seconded and the motion passed.

I. President's Report – David A. DeCenzo

President David DeCenzo deferred his report to Travis Overton, Vice President for Executive Initattives/Chief of Staff, for a brief update on the Board's self-evaluation survey. Overton

explained the results of the survey that the Board had in front of them and how they comply with SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges) requirements.

II. Enrollment Report – Amanda Craddock

Amanda Craddock, Associate Provost for Enrollment Management, Admissions & Merit Awards, presented an enrollment update:

- Craddock reported minimum gains in new freshman and transfer students for Spring 2020.
- Spring 2020 enrollment overall experienced a slight decline in non-degree and continuing students.

III. CEF Report – Stovall Witte

Stovall Witte, Chief Executive Officer of the Coastal Education Foundation, presented the Coastal Educational Foundation's financial report:

- As of 1/31/2020 the university's total assets are \$62.1 million dollars, including \$50.1 million in cash and investments.
- That includes \$3.8 million in uncommitted unrestricted cash and investments, \$6 million of Board Restricted Cash.
- As of 1/31/2020, the university's investment pool is \$47.5 million dollars for the CEF with a current allocation of \$63.8% in equities, 36.2% in fixed income.
- For the seven month period since the beginning of FY 2019/2020, Coastal' s return on investments (net of fees) was 6.35%.
- As of 1/31/20, Coastal's return on investments (net of fees) for the last 10-years averaged an annual return of 7.48% and for the last 5-years averaged and annual return of 6.42%. The 2019 Calendar Year return was 21.22%.
- The CEF Board of Directors accepted and approved the 2018/2019 Audit. It was a clean audit with an unmodified opinion.
- The CEF Board approved a reallocation of funding for next year's unrestricted budget to support the Employee Dependent Scholarship Program not to exceed \$90,000.
- Seven CEF Board Members were reelected for another four year term: Merrill Boyce, Carl Falk, James Moore, David Douglas, Keith Hinson, Craig Wall, III, Chris Huggins and Deborah Vrooman.
- The Board elected three new members: Melody Breeden, John Draughn and Christy Everett.
- The next CEF Board of Directors Meeting is on May 20, 2020.

IV. Standing Committee Motions

Finance, Planning and Facilities Committee

• Patrick Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease of the Athletic Parcel, approximately 25.89 acres. (Motion 20-FPF-01) Dalton Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease of the University Housing Parcel, approximately 16.66 acres. (Motion 20-FPF-02). Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease of the Wheelwright Auditorium/University Boulevard Parcel, approximately 7.97 acres. (Motion 20-FPF-03). Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease of the Academic Core Parcel, approximately 22.16 acres. (Motion 20-FPF-04). Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease of the soccer field and surrounding area, approximately 23 acres. (Motion 20-FPF-05). Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease of the parking lot area and greenspace located on University Boulevard between Baxley Hall and Highway 501. (Motion 20-FPF-06). Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Sparks moved to approve the renewal of one-year lease, with the Horry County Higher Education Commission, of the Burroughs and Chapin Center for Marine and Wetland Studies. (Motion 20-FPF-07). Floyd seconded and the motion passed.

• Eugene Spivey moved to approve the lease +/- 15,000 square feet of office space to house the Office of Financial Services and University Communications, as well as provide secured storage space. The University currently leases 450 Century Circle, Suites A, B and C for office and storage space; however, these leases expire August 31, 2020. In the event the aggregate cost exceeds the threshold as defined by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (SCCHE), concurrent submissions to the SC Department of Administration Real Property Services for bid solicitation and approval by the SCCHE will ensue. Office space located in close proximity to the University campus provides employees convenience to meetings/functions and ease of making deliveries to campus departments. (Motion 20-FPF-09). Patrick Sparks seconded and the motion passed.

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee

- Oran Smith moved to approve the Promotion and/or Tenure Recommendations (Motion 20-ACA-01). Spivey seconded and the motion passed.
- Smith moved to approve bestowing Doctor of Public Service degrees to John Rhodes and Edgar Burroughs at May commencement (Motion 20-ACA-02). Spivey seconded and the motion passed.

Student Affairs and Retention Committee

No action items.

Advancement, Marketing and Alumni Affairs Committee

No action items.

Athletics Committee

No action items.

Government Affairs Committee

No action items.

Executive Committee

No action items.

V. Chairman's Report

The 2020 meeting dates are as follows: May 7-8, August 6-7, October TBD and December 15.

VI. Executive Session (Contractual Matters)

Not needed.

VII. New Business

No new business.

VIII. Adjournment

As there was no more business, Spivey moved to adjourn the meeting and Delan Stevens seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydía Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder