Coastal Carolina University

CCU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

Board of Trustees

10-23-2020

Board of Trustees Minutes, October 23, 2020

Coastal Carolina University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-minutes

Recommended Citation

Coastal Carolina University, "Board of Trustees Minutes, October 23, 2020" (2020). *Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes*. 144.

https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/board-minutes/144

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees at CCU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of CCU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact commons@coastal.edu.

Minutes Coastal Carolina University

Board of Trustees Singleton Ballroom October 23, 2020

Presiding: Chairman William Biggs

Board Members Present: John Bartell, Lee Belcher, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Natasha Hanna, Wyatt Henderson, Sherry Johnson, Daniel Moore, George Mullen, Jason Repak, Oran Smith, Patrick Sparks, Eugene Spivey, Delan Stevens, Samuel Swad, William Turner

Board Members Not Present: None

Others Present: Michael Benson, Brant Branham, David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Matthew Hogue, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Carlos Johnson, Travis Overton, Julie Quinn, Jerry Rashid, David Roper, Erika Small, Darwin Flores-Agustin

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. One member of the media was in attendance: Katie Powell of The Horry Independent.)

Chairman William Biggs brought the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Biggs requested a moment of silence in memory of Stovall Witte. Oran Smith offered an invocation.

I. Roll Call

Roll call was taken by Julie Quinn, Administrative Assistant.

II. Approval of Minutes

William Turner moved to approve the Aug. 7, 2020, full Board of Trustees minutes. Lee Belcher seconded, and the motion carried.

III. Introductions

• President DeCenzo welcomed President-elect, Dr. Michael T. Benson, who will begin his term as the University's third president on January 2, 2021.

III. President's Report

• Coastal participates in a program with China called CINO American 1+2+1. This program is between several universities in America and in China. Students spend one

Board of Trustees Meeting October 23, 2020

- year in China, followed by two years in America, and their final year is in China. The graduation in June 2020 was delayed, but President DeCenzo is happy to report that they graduated ten Chinese students with an average GPA of 3.68. DeCenzo shared that this is a wonderful program, and Benson will surely enjoy being a part of it when president.
- The Coastal Education Foundation (CEF) is processing applications for a new CEO. Before his passing, former CEO Stovall Witte was going to retire in January 2021; accordingly, a search had already begun. Additional information will be forthcoming at the beginning of the year.
- President DeCenzo welcomed the new SGA President, Darwin Flores-Agustin.

IV. Standing Committee Motions

Finance and Audit Committee

- Wyatt Henderson moved for renewal of one-year lease (Nov. 1, 2020, through Oct. 31, 2021) from the Coastal Educational Foundation, for real property consisting of the property located on Tilghman Point and Waties Island in Little River Township, Horry County, South Carolina (Motion 20-FAA-01). Eugene Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.
- Henderson moved for renewal of one-year lease (Nov. 1, 2020, through Oct. 31, 2021) from the Coastal Educational Foundation for the corner property at Founders Drive and 544 for three (3) more consecutive years (Motion 20-FAA-02). Belcher seconded, and the motion carried.
- Henderson moved to accept the 2019-2020 Coastal Carolina University Audit Report (Motion-20-FAA-03). Belcher seconded, and the motion carried.

Facilities and Planning Committee

• Sherry Johnson moved to request approval to take three capital projects off hold status and seek the next level of state approvals. The projects are the Library Learning Complex, the Kimbel Library renovations, and the Eaglin Residence Hall renovation (Motion 20-FAC-01). Turner seconded, and the motion carried.

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee

- Smith moved to approve the new program: B.A. in Criminal Justice (Motion 20-AAR-05). Henderson seconded, and the motion carried.
- Henderson moved to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Emeritus Professor title requests for tenured faculty to be awarded upon retirement (Motion 20-AAR-06). Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Board of Trustees Meeting October 23, 2020

The title of Emeritus Professor will be awarded to Ray Moye at the time of his retirement. The title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus will be awarded to Carol Osborne, Steven Madden, and Henry Lowenstein at the time of their retirements.

Administration, Governance and Philanthropy

No action items.

Athletics

No action items.

Executive Committee

- Biggs moved to approve the furniture and academic regalia in the Office of the President for the President-elect (Motion 20-EXC-03). Turner seconded, and the motion carried.
- Delan Stevens moved that the Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees approve the presentation of a formal employment agreement to Dr. Michael T. Benson with the intent of finalizing Benson's hire and appointment as President of Coastal Carolina University upon the execution and ratification of said agreement (Motion 20-EXC-04). Henderson moved to amend this motion to make it a roll call vote. The amended motion passed unanimously, and the motion carried.
- Henderson moved to approve all former committee meeting minutes as one. Daniel Moore seconded, and the motion carried. (Motion 20-EXC-05).

Stevens extends the board's gratitude to Travis Overton, Vice President for Executive Initiatives/Chief of Staff, for his help with the Presidential Search Advisory Committee.

VI. Chairman's Report

The remaining Board of Trustees meetings for 2020-2021 are as follows: Dec. 15, Feb. 18-19, May 6-7, and Aug. 5-6.

Biggs welcomed new Board of Trustee member, Lisa Davis.

VII. Adjournment

As there was no additional business, Turner moved to adjourn. Henderson seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Board of Trustees Meeting October 23, 2020

*Lydia Deeck*Lydia Deeck
Recorder