The South Carolina General Assembly passed legislation establishing Coastal Carolina University as an independent, public institution, effective July 1, 1993.

The legislation established the governing body of Coastal Carolina University, the Board of Trustees, which by statute is responsible for overseeing the effective governance of the University. The Board of Trustees defines the mission, role and scope of the University, establishes the general policies of the University, approves the budget, and provides accountability to the public and the General Assembly.

The University's 17-member Board of Trustees comprises the Governor of the State or his or her designee, who is an ex officio member of the Board, one gubernatorial appointee from the state at-large, and 15 members elected by the South Carolina General Assembly to represent each of the state’s Congressional Districts and the state at-large. The Board of Trustees holds regular meetings four times each year.

The University's first Board of Trustees met on July 1, 1993.

For more information see the Board of Trustees page on the CCU website.


Browse the Board of Trustees Collections:

Board of Trustees Agendas

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

Board of Trustees Committee Minutes